Tanabe Prize

2017 Tanabe Prize in Acid–Base Catalysis

Bert Weckhuysen 2017 Tanabe Prize for Acid–Base Catalysis

The 2017 Tanabe Prize for Acid–Base Catalysis will be awarded to Bert Weckhuysen, who receives the prize in recognition of his substantial contributions to the field of acid–base catalysis. The award ceremony will take place at the 8th International Symposium on Acid–Base Catalysis in no deposit slots uk, Brazil May 7-10, 2017.

Bert Weckhuysen received his PhD degree from Leuven University with honours (highest degree) in 1995, thanks book of ra online casino paypal after which he worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Lehigh University (USA) and at Texas A&M University (USA). From 1997 until 2000 he was a research fellow of the Belgian National Science Foundation. From October 1st 2000 he is a Full Professor in Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis at Utrecht University and as of September 2012 he was appointed as Distinguished Professor of the Faculty of Science at Utrecht University. He holds a number of visiting professorships and is an elected member of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences (KNAW), the Royal Flemisch Academy of Belgium for Sciences and Arts (KVAB) and the European Academy of Science; he is also a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC). His research has focused for many years in the design, synthesis, characterization and application of catalytic solids for the conversion of fossil and renewable feedstock into transportation fuels, chemicals and materials. He is internationally renowned for the development of in-situ and operando spectroscopy and microscopy for studying catalytic solids under realistic conditions. This approach has provided unique insights in the working and deactivation mechanisms of catalytic processes, as well as in the internal architecture of solid catalysts.


At the ABC-8 in Rio, he will deliver a plenary lecture entitled “Nanoscale Chemical Imaging of Brønsted Acid Sites in Zeolites: Strength, Accessibility and Reactivity”